Outstanding Florida Springs

In 2016, Senate Bill 552 created the “Florida Springs and Aquifer Protection Act,” in which the Legislature designated Outstanding Florida Springs (OFS).  Senate Bill 552 required that minimum flows or minimum levels (MFLs) be set for all OFS on or before July 1, 2017. There are a total of fourteen springs or spring groups listed as OFS within the District, ten of which have final rules.

Minimum Flow for Outstanding Florida Springs: Falmouth Spring, Lafayette Blue Spring, Peacock Springs & Troy Spring

Senate Bill 552 gave water management districts the ability to use emergency rule-making, if necessary, to meet the above schedule. Four OFS in the District did not have final MFLs when the bill was passed.  On June 13, 2017, the District Governing Board adopted an Emergency Rule for the four OFS:

  • Falmouth Spring
  • Lafayette Blue Spring
  • Peacock Springs
  • Troy Spring

Adoption of this emergency rule put regional water resource protections in place until the final rule is adopted.